Athletics

Mr. Patrick Cooney - Athletic Director - pcooney@cusd.net

Mr. Charles Bryant - Assistant Athletic Director - cbryant@cusd.net


At Carpinteria High School we value the lessons that your student will learn from participating in athletics. For that reason, we encourage students to play multiple sports if interested. For the development of younger and less experienced students, many of our programs have competitive teams at the Frosh/Soph and Junior Varsity levels.


Following CIF State’s announcement that high school sports in California will not return until December 2020 at the earliest, the Southern Section released their sports calendar for the 2020-2021 school year on Monday.

The three traditional high school sports seasons – fall, winter and spring – are now scheduled to be played between December and June and will be condensed into two seasons, fall and spring.

Football practice is now scheduled to begin Dec. 14 in the Southern Section, with the first games scheduled to kick off on Jan. 8.

The first fall sports contests scheduled to be played in the Southern Section are boys volleyball on Dec. 14.

Here is the complete Southern Section high school sports calendar for 2020-2021:


CIFSS FALL SEASON DATES


BOYS AND GIRLS CROSS-COUNTRY


First Contest – Saturday, December 26, 2020

SOP Date – Friday, January 29, 2021 (35 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, March 4, 2021 (70 days)

Last Allowable Contest – Friday, March 5, 2021

CIF Southern Section Prelims – Friday/Saturday, March 12/13, 2021

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Saturday, March 20, 2021

CIF State Championships – Saturday, March 27, 2021


FOOTBALL


First Practice Date – Monday, December 14, 2020

Week 1 Contest Date – Friday, January 8, 2021

SOP Date – Monday, February 8, 2021 (32 days)

Week 10 Contest Date – Friday, March 12, 2021 (64 days)

CIF Southern Section Playoffs – March 19, March 26, April 2, 2021

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, April 9/10, 2021

CIF State Championships Bowl Games – Friday/Saturday, April 16/17, 2021


BOYS VOLLEYBALL


First Contest Date – Saturday, December 12, 2020

SOP Date – Tuesday, January 12, 2021 (32 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, February 11, 2021

Last Allowable Contest – Saturday, February 13, 2021 (64 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Saturday, March 6, 2021

CIF Southern Regionals – March 15-20, 2021


GIRLS VOLLEYBALL


First Contest Date – Saturday, December 19, 2020

SOP Date – Tuesday, January 19, 2021 (32 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, February 18, 2021

Last Allowable Contest – Saturday, February 20, 2021 (64 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, March 12/13, 2021

CIF State Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, March 19/20, 2021


BOYS WATER POLO


First Contest Date – Monday, December 21, 2020

SOP Date – Monday, January 11, 2021 (31 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, February 18, 2021

Last Allowable Contest – Saturday, February 20, 2021 (62 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Saturday, March 6, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Finals – Friday/Saturday, March 19/20, 2021


GIRLS WATER POLO


First Contest Date – Monday, December 28, 2020

SOP Date – Monday, January 18, 2021 (31 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, February 25, 2021

Last Allowable Contest – Saturday, February 27, 2021 (62 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Saturday, March 13, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Finals – Friday/Saturday, March 19/20, 2021


BASEBALL


First Contest Date – Friday, March 19, 2021

SOP Date – Friday, April 23, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 28, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 29, 2021 (72 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, June 18/19, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Championship Finals – Saturday, June 26, 2021


BOYS AND GIRLS BASKETBALL


First Contest Date – Friday, March 12, 2021

SOP Date – Friday, April 16, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 21, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 22, 2021 (72 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, June 11/12, 2021

CIF State Championship Finals – Friday/ Saturday, June 18/19, 2021


BOYS AND GIRLS GOLF


First Contest Date – Saturday, March 20, 2021

SOP Date – Saturday, April 24, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 28, 2021

Last Allowable Contest – Saturday, May 29, 2021 (71 days)

CIF Southern Section Individual Regionals – Monday, May 31, 2021

CIF Southern Section Team Championships – Monday, June 7, 2021

CIF-SS Individual Championship/Team Qualifier – Thursday, June 10, 2021

CIF/SCGA Southern Regional Championships – Thursday, June 17, 2021

CIF State Championships – Wednesday, June 23, 2021

(Note – CIF-SS Individual Championship/Team Qualifier, CIF/SCGA Regional Championships

and CIF State Championships dates are subject to change, due to course availability.)


BOYS AND GIRLS SOCCER


First Contest Date – Saturday, February 27, 2021

SOP Date – Saturday, April 3, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, May 6, 2021

Last Allowable Contest – Saturday, May 8, 2021 (71 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, May 28/May 29, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Finals – Saturday, June 5, 2021


SOFTBALL


First Contest Date – Friday, March 19, 2021

SOP Date – Friday, April 23, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Thursday, May 27, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 29, 2021 (72 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday/Saturday, June 18/19, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Championship Finals – Saturday, June 26, 2021


BOYS AND GIRLS SWIMMING/ DIVING


First Contest Date – Saturday, March 13, 2021

SOP Date – Saturday, April 17, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 21, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 22, 2021 (71 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Monday, May 24 – Saturday, May 29, 2021

CIF State Championships – Friday/ Saturday, June 4/5, 2021


BOYS TEAM TENNIS


First Contest Date – Monday, March 1, 2021

SOP Date – Monday, April 5, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 14, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 15, 2021 (71 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday, May 28, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Championships – Saturday, June 5, 2021


GIRLS TEAM TENNIS


First Contest Date – Monday, February 22, 2021

SOP Date – Monday, March 29, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 7, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 8, 2021 (71 days)

CIF Southern Section Championship Finals – Friday, May 21, 2021

CIF Southern Regional Championships – Saturday, June 5, 2021


BOYS AND GIRLS TRACK AND FIELD


First Contest Date – Saturday, March 20, 2021

SOP Date – Saturday, April 24, 2021 (36 days)

Last League Contest – Friday, May 28, 2021

Last Allowable Contest Date – Saturday, May 29, 2021 (72 days)

CIF Southern Section Preliminaries – Saturday, June 5, 2021

CIF Southern Section Divisional Championships – Saturday, June 12, 2021

CIF Southern Section Masters Meet – Saturday, June 19, 2021

CIF State Championships – Friday/ Saturday, June 25/26, 2021

Winter

Boys Basketball

Boys Soccer

Girls Basketball

Girls Soccer

Girls Water Polo

Spring

Baseball

Boys Golf

Boys Tennis

Boys Volleyball

Softball

Swimming (boys/girls)

Track (boys/girls)

To be eligible to participate in interscholastic sports, a student must have:


1. Passed a physical examination within the past 12 months.

2. Be under the age of 19.

3. Have attended a four-year high school for no more than eight semesters.

4. Must have taken 25 units in the preceding grading period and passed with a 2.0 average.

5. Be residentially eligible.

6. Be an amateur.

7. Be making normal progress towards graduation.

8. A grade point average (GPA) of 2.0 for the last grading period.

9. Medical Insurance for football is mandatory. The district has limited insurance which acts as a secondary coverage for any sport except football.

10. Completed all forms in clearance packet, including the signing of the Athletic Code by student and parent.

Some benefits of playing sports:

    • Your child will learn great time management skills that will benefit him or her far beyond high school.
    • Your child will have a healthy outlet for energy.
    • Your child will learn about competition.
    • Your child will have a structured activity to participate in each day.
    • Students involved in sports are proven to do better academically and have fewer discipline issues.
    • Your child will have the opportunity to meet new people and develop positive lifelong friendships.
    • Your child will have a positive activity for a resume or a college application that showcases your child’s dedication, commitment, and hard work.